# ATAT Area 7 FFA Meeting

7/25/23

Meeting was called to order at 1:50

# Special guests:

Terry Baize- August 6th Swine benefit sale to support Blake Edwards (showpigs.com)
Dr. Forsyth- VATAT Credit Union Booth has lots of resources. Also hosting a finance
101 workshop. December 2023 system upgrade. March 2024 Debit Card Service
Brad Borgus- Texas State contest dates are all on judgingcard

**Leann Freeman**- National Teacher Ambassador. Can help with resources from National FFA

Chelsea Hash- TTU dates are on judging card

**San Antonio Ag Mech**- Welding skill in parking lot during project unloading for trailer classes.

Introduction of new teachers by district

### **ATAT Buisness**

**Lance Jonas**- Encourage teachers to join ATAT and support the crisis fund. Awarded tenure awards to teachers. Outstanding advocate award to Canyon New Braunfels parent.

Jessica Reeves- Encouraged support of PAC and Crisis Fund.

#### Open Positions:

Patrick Padget was elected by General Consent to ATAT Board

Corey Raines was elected by General Consent to ATAT Advisory Committee

Eric Davis was elected by General Consent to ATAT Ag Mech Committee

Lorie Kempen was elected by General Consent to ATAT Competitive Events Committee

Warren Beard and Jordan Trees were elected by General Consent to ATAT

Conference Planning Committee

# Reports

# Treasurer's report

**Mark Jarzombek** (See Attached) - Dues increase increased the revenue. Never paid scholarship from last year (will get with teacher to pay).

<u>Jessica Reeves</u> moved to accept the budget as proposed. Motion carries by <u>General Consent.</u>

# Scholarship

**Kyla Williamson**- 61 applicants. Area 7 had most scholarships advance to the state interviews.

Concerns: Help judges understand rubric. Help judges understand SAE's. State to revisit college majors. State to develop a policy for applications that tie.

Scholarship Orientation at Area Convention. Encourage interviews at District Banquets.

Kyla Williamson was elected to Scholarship Committee by General Consent

LDE

**Chase Carroll** encouraged districts to work together with a shortened window due to nationals.

Nominations for 1 year LDE Term: **Tara Poerner, Lorie Kempen**, and **Kayle Musgroves**.

<u>Kayle Musgroves</u> is elected to <u>LDE Committee for 1 year Term</u>

Nominations for 2 year LDE Term: **Tara Poerner** and **Lorie Kempen**<u>Tara Poerner</u> was elected to <u>LDE Committee for 2 year Term</u>

CDE

**Joe David Lehmberg** spoke if you have concerns to let him know. Nominations for CDE Committee: **Colton Pouncy** and **Jacob Kessler Colton Pouncy** was elected to CDE Committee for 2 year Term

# Ag Mech

**Eric Davis** said ATMS is looking at aligning more with nationals

ATM Area April 5th

ATM State April 26th

AAE Area March 26th

AAE State April 12th

Tractor Area January 30th (Massey Ferguson Tractor)

<u>Eric Davis</u> was elected to Ag Mech Committee for 2 year term by General Consent

#### Floral/ Nursery Landscape

**Andrea Minze** said the committee is not meeting this year. If interested in updates email Katy Dalton.

Nominations for Floral/ Nursery Landscape Committee were **Fallon Drennan** and **Brittney Bowman** 

**Brittney Bowman** was elected to Floral/ Nursery Landscape Committee for a 2 year term.

#### Rodeo

**Krista Canham** said Texas FFA is exploring options for next years rodeo **Krista Canham** was elected to Rodeo Committee for a 2 year tem by General Consent.

#### Wildlife

Jessica Reeves announced the area contest will be earlier next year

<u>Jessica Reeves</u> was elected to Wildlife Committee for a 2 year term by General Consent

### State Degree Check

Patrick Padgett announced that degree check will be in Tarleton on June 3rd-7th

Patrick Padgett was elected to State Degree Check Committee for a 2 year term

by General Consent

#### State SDE

**Erica McMurry** announced new rules that will be implemented including DQ clarification and no handshakes. Also possibility of moving SDE away from convention (look for email survey in future).

**Jenna Pool** gave clarification on the number of banners and amount of people in the holding room.

<u>Erica McMurry</u> was elected to SDE Committee for a 2 year term by General <u>Consent.</u>

# Ag Science Fair

**Josh Anderson** spoke about the possibility of moving the Science Fair away from state convention. Schools are not all using the template. There was some confusion around check in. There are some plagiarism concerns. Only Gold will advance to nationals. Possibility of moving submission date up.

Josh Anderson was elected to Ag Science Fair Committee for a 2 year term by General Consent.

#### Area Leadership Camp

**Kristie Weller** announced that camp was very well attended (153 campers) Camp will be moving to Schreiner University (June 18-20, 2024) with no cost increase

#### State Officer Travel

**Jannell McMullin** stressed the importance of being flexible on when state officers can visit. Fill out google form when she sends it out to secure a date.

#### Area Officer Elections

**Tara Poerner** said all went well. Writing prompt may be moved to beginning.

#### Area Greenhand Camp

**Josh Anderson** gave the date of September 16th from 9am-2pm

Area LDE will be November 15th. Submission date for materials is November 10th.

Area CDE will be April 6th at TAMU. Location change from High School to RELLIS for some contests

Nominations were opened for a member to serve on the State Officer Election Committee

Nominations for State Officer Election Committee: **Tara Poerner, Jordan Trees, Josh Anderson**, and **Wayne Hux**.

Jordan Trees was elected to the State Officer Election Committee.

Nominations were opened for a male Area Leadership Coordinator

Josh Anderson was elected to Area Leadership Coordinator by General Consent

Judging Card Balances need to be paid

Area Leadership Officers

President Mark Jarzombek elected by General Consent
Vice President Felice Marek elected by General Consent
Secretary Brian Clay elected by General Consent
Treasurer nominations: Erica McMurrary and Destiny Faulkner

<u>Erica McMurrary is elected Treasurer</u>

Meeting adjourned at 3:42pm

Brian Clay Secretary