AREA VII FFA ASSOCIATION 1ST GENERAL MEETING VATAT CONFERENCE – Arlington, Texas July 25, 2017

- General meeting opened by Melvin Pouncy at 1:16 pm
- Recognition of Guests as they arrived:
 - VATAT Credit Union report given by Glen Clinard
 - Fresh Country report given by Jerry Hoskins
 - San Antonio Spurs information concerning Spurs FFA night (12-8-17) presented by Nancy Gonzales
 - Texas Tech University report given by Dr. John Rayfield. (Inv. LDE 11/1, Inv. CDE 3/24, State CDE 4/21)
- VATAT Business
 - Tenure awards presented by Ray Pieniazek
 - Election of Board of Directors
 - Open position (previously held by Steve Forsythe) to be replaced with a 1 year term (due to area realignment). Nominees: Bryan Hawkins, Mike Rempe, Wayne Hunt – Bryan Hawkins elected.
 - Position currently held by Patrick Padgett up for re-election. Patrick Padgett nominated and re-elected.
 - State Livestock Advisory Committee report given by Lorie Kempen
 - State Ag Mech Advisory Committee report given by Mike Billings
 - State Livestock Show Competitive Events Committee report given by Jordan Blount
 - Comments/concerns for board members to take to Wednesday morning board meeting – no comments given.
- Call to Order Area VII business meeting called to order by Melvin Pouncy at 1:46 pm
- Approval of Minutes of Previous Meeting previous minutes posted online motion to approve passed.
- Introduction of New Teachers announced by district presidents.
- **Treasurer's Report** copies of the Area VII FFA 2016-17 Financial Report distributed and report given by Mark Jarzombek. Motion to accept report by Bryan Hawkins motion passed.
- Scholarship Report report given by Mark Jarzombek. 2017 we had 73 applicants, 16 received scholarships.
 - Area VII scholarship recipients are Eric Dugi (Navarro) and Grace Baxter (Dripping Springs)
 - Mark recommended the area consider/discuss allowing teachers from schools with applicants serve as scholarship judges and said the state committee will be determining the new minimum number of scholarships per area for the new 12 area format.
 - Motion made by Joe David Lehmberg that our representatives push for changing minimum to 5 per area motion passed.

- Motion made by Nichole Sullivan to allow teachers from schools with scholarship applicant to participate in the Area scholarship scoring process – motion amended to limit to 1 teacher per school – motion passed.
- Brad Barnett's term on scholarship committee open for re-election Brad Barnett nominated and re-elected. Current seat is Mark Jarzombek.
- State LDE Committee no report. Rodger Welch nominated and re-elected to term. Current seat is Jordan Blount.
- State CDE Committee no report. Ray Pieniazek asked for recommendation none given. Tim Tatsch's term open for re-election. Tim Tatsch and Patrick Padgett nominated. Tim Tatsch re-elected. Current seat is Ray Pieniazek.
- State Ag Mech Committee report given by Mike Tondre (available online). Eric Davis' term open for re-election. Eric Davis nominated and re-elected. Current seat is Mike Tondre.
- State Horticulture Committee report given by Bryan Hawkins (available online). Andrea Watt's term open for re-election. Andrea Watts nominated and re-elected. Current seat is Bryan Hawkins.
- State Rodeo Committee report given by Becky Maas (available online). Craig Leonard's term open for re-election. Craig Leonard nominated and re-elected. Current seat is Becky Maas.
- State Wildlife Committee no report / no recommendations. Don Harris' term open for reelection. Don Harris nominated and re-elected. Current seat is Dwayne Reiley.
- State Awards & Degree Check Committee report given by James Marcuse (available online). Steve Forsythe's term on committee is vacant. Dwayne Reiley and Amanda Custy-Schaas nominated. Dwayne Reiley elected. Current seat is James Marcuse.
- State SDE Committee report given by Brad Barnett (available online). Brad Barnett's term open for re-election. Brad Barnett nominated and re-elected. Current seat is Tyler Maltsberger.
- State Ag Science Fair Committee report given by Andrea Nordman (available online). Deanna Roeder's term open for re-election. Deanna Roeder, Kyla Williamson and Katie Wohl nominated. Deanna Roeder re-elected. Current seat is Andrea Nordman.
- **State SAE Task Force** no report. State SAE Task Force positions are appointed positions currently held by Danny Kempen and Dwayne Reiley.
- Area Officer Elections report given by Deanna Roeder. There will be changes made to the area officer application process which will be posted on the Area VII website. Also looking into changing to a 1-day format.
- Area Leadership Camp report given by Kari Langbein. 2018 camp dates are June 19-21.
- OLD BUSINESS
 - State Area Alignment Timeline Fall of 2017 Revise Area By-Laws Committee from last year with Danny Kempen as Chairman, just going to revise the necessary things such as District names and schools within them. Will approve as executive in September. If anyone wants to propose major revisions they can do that according to By-laws for May 2018 convention.
 - Districts should follow same format and finalize bylaws/constitutions in Fall 2017.

- **Financial Transfer** will occur mid-March 2018. Formulas will be provided by Texas FFA. 'New' areas may request loans from Texas FFA to begin initial process.
- All competitive events will remain in 10 area format thru 2017-2018 school year (Officer elections and talent team voting will represent the new 12 area format).
- 2018 District/Area Meetings The area VII model will have regular degree check and speaking events based on the current Area VII (10 area format), arena floor will be set for the new area VII (12 area format) with officer elections and talent competition to proceed as usual, current Area VII members not in new Area VII will be seated in bleachers.
- NEW BUSINESS
 - Area Officer Elections all re-elected include:
 - President Melvin Pouncy
 - Vice President Felice Marek
 - Secretary Mike Wallace
 - Treasurer Mark Jarzombek
- Adjournment motion to adjourn passed at 2:48 pm.
- Move to District Meetings
- Respectfully submitted: Mike Wallace